Ungodly Beliefs

Standard

A stony heart forms from many of our past experiences. One way in particular is through ‘ungodly beliefs’.

Ungodly Beliefs- All beliefs, decisions, attitudes, agreements, judgements, expectations, vows and oaths that do not agree with God (His word, character, His nature)

Godly Beliefs-All beliefs, decisions, attitudes, agreements, judgements, expectations, vows and oaths that DO agree with God, (His word, His nature His character.)

Ungodly beliefs are dangerous because they affect our perceptions, our decisions, and our actions. Everyone to some extent lives his/her life out of wrong beliefs, or lies. For those who have read my story it is easy to spot the ungodly beliefs or lies I chose to agree with.

“No one will ever take care of me, so I must take care of myself” this lead me into a lifestyle of addiction, self hatred, cutting, and sexual promiscuity. I was scared and insecure.

It was only when I started to replace these lies with the truth that I began to taste freedom.

A real Godly belief is reflected in our actions
A real Godly belief is rooted in our heart.
A real Godly belief stands firm in the face of challenge

Becoming transformed into the image of christ, sanctification is a process. By allowing God to remove these ungodly beliefs and replace them with truth, we are then able to begin walking in a place of confidence, into who he created us to be. We take on a renewed mind.

The ‘perfect’ ungodly belief- The “perfect” ungodly belief is one that appears to be absolutely true based on the facts of our experience, yet is absolutely false based on what God has to say

*No one loves me
*I am all alone
*I am defective
*God doesn’t love me

Most of us don’t even recognize the above ungodly beliefs in our lives. They are usually completely hidden from us! We then continue on living our lives based on lies. Most ungodly beliefs are a mixture of truth and error.

Most ungodly beliefs are formed through traumatic events in our childhoods, and younger years. Hurts are like an infected wound, and the ungodly belief like the pus coming from it. When similar events are repeated that trigger those original ungodly beliefs, we continue to reinforce the original lies within our minds.

So to sum it up, here’s the cycle

1. Our ungodly beliefs are formed out of hurtful experiences leading to…
2. Expectations arising from these beliefsThe expectations affect our….
3. Behavior, causing us also to influence the behavior of others, leading to….
4. Experiences in line with these behaviors, that confirm the Ungodly beliefs.

This traps the person into a steadily worsening spiral of death. The only way to escape this is to… Choose to make Gods truth our new belief
As we begin to seek the truth of who we are in Christ, how he loves us and dispel the lies we are lead into constructive behavior and good experiences. The same cycle that was killing us now begins to reinforce a new godly belief.

About Amalia

My name is Amalia, I am a survivor, but I am not simply surviving here. I fully intend on living life to its fullest everyday of my life. My past does not define me, it is simply a part of me and a contribution to who I am becoming. Fully awake, fully alive. Love is my religion. I enjoy meeting new people from all different walks of life. I love engaging in deep, meaningful conversation with others. I believe we each have something to add to anothers life. I love Jesus. And the way he interacted with people, especially the outcasts. I sometimes feel as if I am a very old soul born hundreds of years too late. But am realizing I am right where I am supposed to be, there are no accidents. I cherish those who love and accept me for who I am, intensity and all. Who love me for me, not who they'd like me to be. When I love, I love deeply, when I hurt I hurt deeply, I can feel others pain, an empath, but I would not change a thing. My 'story' has molded me into the person I am today and I like me! I am deeply moved by early morning sunrises and evening sunsets, by flowers, bugs, the changing seasons,barefoot walks in the woods, the wind in my hair and the sunshine on my face. I love capturing these moments with my camera, as well as trying to share the emotions attached on canvas. Music is my drug of choice. It soothes me when i'm feeling down or overwhelmed. I am drawn to other creatives and out of the box thinkers, the misfits, outcasts. I love to laugh and make others laugh. Laughter is amazing medicine. I have ADHD and it shows, I am currently....LOOK A SQUIRREL! I have a very strong sense of justice and nothing angers me more than seeing others taken advantage of or harmed, especially in the name of religion or by those in authority who use their authority to harm or control others. I am childlike, yet intense and will fight for those I love until the bitter end. But i've also learned that I cannot save anyone else and have learned when to let go. Because that too is love.

One response »

  1. What ever gives a person peace is paramount… you seem more than simple and being from a farm has given you access to the earth. You or anyone’s god is the your great spirit that, hopefully, guides your life… and if not, then others will take your place… there is only one life on this rock and we are all a part.

Leave a Reply

