My Story-Part 3

Standard

Little did I know from the moment I set foot back into my fathers house that my world was about to be rocked big time!
I would like to say that the story ended there, and we all lived happily ever after…read on.

After being home for a week it was quite obvious that I was still carrying a tremendous amount of pain and anger. My father and I engaged in shouting matches daily, and I was struggling to find my way.

One evening while raiding my fathers liquor cabinet there was a knock at the door.

I was thrilled to find my friend Cheryl there, thinking all right, i’ll grab my coat and we go out and find a place to party! Hollywood clubbing maybe, or maybe just head over to the park and smoke some weed get drunk and start a brawl with some preppies.

“Amy” she said…I’m just not into that anymore…Hmmm, thats odd. Cheryl was always so much fun. Well what ya into now Cheryl?

Cheryl was one of my few Jewish friends. We loved sharing stories of stealing the wine from the seder cup on passover, taking over for Elijah whom the cup was left out for to begin with. We used to joke about temple and how foolish we had been to believe such fairytales.

“Amy come on out with me tonight I want to introduce you to some of my new friends.”
Hmmm, well any friend of Cheryl’s is a friend of mine! This should be fun.

I asked my dad to babysit for me, and he gladly accepted being that Cheryl was a good jewish girl, what could we possibly get in to?

She brought me to a small strip mall in the valley, as we approached the storefront I heard Israeli music blasting inside, tamborines drums and people singing as if they were celebrating…Hmmm a wedding? This is odd.

She brought me inside where to my confusion there were at least 50 people all dancing in a circle, clapping and singing.

I sat quietly in the back taking it all in. There was something different about this group.

When the music came to an end we all sat in a circle. A middle aged man began sharing. He spoke of his past, similar to mine, and my jaw dropped when he started talking about his relationship with Yeshua! Oi vey if my father knew about this he’d kick my rear right back onto the streets again!
What??? Are these Jews or Gentiles? I listened carefully. There was something very sweet about this group, but I dont know…They dont know what i’m REALLY like I thought to myself.

Cheryl and I talked on the way back to my house “Amy, believe me, you know what I was like. My life is so different now! Amy, I have so much peace, I feel as if I have come alive”.

Well Cheryl you dont understand, you just dont know. She hugged me and told me she was praying for me and that she would call me in the morning.

She continued to call, inviting me back to the small storefront, to which I repeatedly declined. “Thats ok Amy, I still love you.”

About a week later as I was laying on the couch crying, feeling alone, confused and lost there was a knock at the door.

As I opened it, a short blonde heavy set woman stood before me. “Are you Amy ”? Who wants to know I replied. “Amy may I come in? My name is Mary Jo and I have some news for you.”
You can tell me right here thats fine, I replied in a asty tone.
Amy she started hesitantly….”I was hired to find you… my head began spinning.
“Amy, your mother is searching for you, and hired me to find you” But my mother is dead! Is this some sort of cruel joke I said tearing up.
“Amy, your BIRTH mother is looking for you”.

About Amalia

My name is Amalia, I am a survivor, but I am not simply surviving here. I fully intend on living life to its fullest everyday of my life. My past does not define me, it is simply a part of me and a contribution to who I am becoming. Fully awake, fully alive. Love is my religion. I enjoy meeting new people from all different walks of life. I love engaging in deep, meaningful conversation with others. I believe we each have something to add to anothers life. I love Jesus. And the way he interacted with people, especially the outcasts. I sometimes feel as if I am a very old soul born hundreds of years too late. But am realizing I am right where I am supposed to be, there are no accidents. I cherish those who love and accept me for who I am, intensity and all. Who love me for me, not who they'd like me to be. When I love, I love deeply, when I hurt I hurt deeply, I can feel others pain, an empath, but I would not change a thing. My 'story' has molded me into the person I am today and I like me! I am deeply moved by early morning sunrises and evening sunsets, by flowers, bugs, the changing seasons,barefoot walks in the woods, the wind in my hair and the sunshine on my face. I love capturing these moments with my camera, as well as trying to share the emotions attached on canvas. Music is my drug of choice. It soothes me when i'm feeling down or overwhelmed. I am drawn to other creatives and out of the box thinkers, the misfits, outcasts. I love to laugh and make others laugh. Laughter is amazing medicine. I have ADHD and it shows, I am currently....LOOK A SQUIRREL! I have a very strong sense of justice and nothing angers me more than seeing others taken advantage of or harmed, especially in the name of religion or by those in authority who use their authority to harm or control others. I am childlike, yet intense and will fight for those I love until the bitter end. But i've also learned that I cannot save anyone else and have learned when to let go. Because that too is love.

2 responses »

  1. Wow Amy, this is very interesting. I can’t wait to read the rest. You are a great writer, btw! Thanks for sharing!!! I love reading/hearing ppls. testimonies.
    Blessings!!!

Leave a Reply

