Masks

Standard

“The deep truth is that our human suffering need not be an obstacle to the joy and peace we so desire, but can become, instead, the means to it. The great secret of the spiritual life, the life of the Beloved Sons and Daughters of God, is that everything we live, be it gladness or sadness, joy or pain, health or illness, can all be a part of the journey toward the full realization of our humanity. It is not hard to say to one another: ‘All that is good and beautiful leads us to the glory of the children of God.’ But it is very hard to say: ‘But didn’t you know that we all have to suffer and thus enter into our glory?’ Nonetheless, real care means the willingness to help each other in making our brokenness into the gateway to joy.”
— Henri Nouwen, The Life Of The Beloved


The great lie religion has taught us is that we must put on our masks and keep up an outward appearance of holiness, false joy in the midst of our pain and stuggles. We are afraid to show our ‘true selves’ in our brokeness, pain and suffering, not realizing this is all part of the sanctification process. There is a much deeper work taking place in our moments of pain. The pain we endure should only remind us that without Christ we are nothing.
Why do try so desperately to hide our struggles? Keep up a holy appearance in the midst of turmoil?

My grace is enough; it’s all you need.
My strength comes into its own in your weakness.

A mask of gold hides all deformities.
Thomas Dekker

The creation of the mask.

The “you” that you are willing to let the world see.
However it started and however it was reinforced – what we want to look at is how we can take the mask off and start to be real with the people around us.
Take off the mask? Why risk it?
This is how most of us think, at least subconsciously. We don’t want to risk letting people see the bad stuff in us. If we let people see just the good stuff – if we never let them see the bad stuff – we will be accepted and will be able to enjoy good friendships with others around us.
There is a major fault to this line of thinking!
Think about it. If you are being accepted by the people around you because of the false front you present – then deep down you know that it is only the false front that is being accepted – not the real you.
The real you will remain terribly alone.
And you know it. That is why so many women who we see as “picture perfect” are in reality struggling with deep insecurities.
Do not be satisfied with lukewarm relationships. Be willing to risk vulnerability.
What do you rob yourself of when you live life behind the mask?

About Amalia

My name is Amalia, I am a survivor, but I am not simply surviving here. I fully intend on living life to its fullest everyday of my life. My past does not define me, it is simply a part of me and a contribution to who I am becoming. Fully awake, fully alive. Love is my religion. I enjoy meeting new people from all different walks of life. I love engaging in deep, meaningful conversation with others. I believe we each have something to add to anothers life. I love Jesus. And the way he interacted with people, especially the outcasts. I sometimes feel as if I am a very old soul born hundreds of years too late. But am realizing I am right where I am supposed to be, there are no accidents. I cherish those who love and accept me for who I am, intensity and all. Who love me for me, not who they'd like me to be. When I love, I love deeply, when I hurt I hurt deeply, I can feel others pain, an empath, but I would not change a thing. My 'story' has molded me into the person I am today and I like me! I am deeply moved by early morning sunrises and evening sunsets, by flowers, bugs, the changing seasons,barefoot walks in the woods, the wind in my hair and the sunshine on my face. I love capturing these moments with my camera, as well as trying to share the emotions attached on canvas. Music is my drug of choice. It soothes me when i'm feeling down or overwhelmed. I am drawn to other creatives and out of the box thinkers, the misfits, outcasts. I love to laugh and make others laugh. Laughter is amazing medicine. I have ADHD and it shows, I am currently....LOOK A SQUIRREL! I have a very strong sense of justice and nothing angers me more than seeing others taken advantage of or harmed, especially in the name of religion or by those in authority who use their authority to harm or control others. I am childlike, yet intense and will fight for those I love until the bitter end. But i've also learned that I cannot save anyone else and have learned when to let go. Because that too is love.

2 responses »

  1. I don’t accept friend requests from people with fake names on Facebook. It’s called FACEbook not MASKbook. I appreciate transparency most in a person.

Leave a Reply

