Qualities of a good, godly friend.

Standard

Wow, what an adventure it is raising three teens at once! I downloaded this audiobook ‘Boundaries with Teens’ by John Townsend, and so far am getting so much out of it! Just wanted to share a few little tidbits I picked up while listening. This particular passage discusses the importance of a healthy  support system while raising teens. Enjoy!

‎4 characteristics of good connections:
We need friends who can let us be ourself. Who accept our vulnerabilities, and who love us and give us grace no matter what.
1. Grace-No judgement, Friends who are FOR us no matter what, friends who will love us unconditionally without judgement no matter how miserably we think we are failing. Friends We can share anything with, without them freaking out. This makes us more honest and open about our problems. This openness then leads to more successful solutions. Gods greatest gift ‘grace’ comes from Him and through us. When we have relationship with people who walk in grace, we KNOW that we dont have to have it together or put on a happy face. People of grace will move closer to us and not be put off by our issues.

2. Identification– Finding the right friends who we can identify with helps us feel like we are not alone, and there are others just as ‘crazy’ as us 🙂 This provides connection, encouragement and hope.

3 Guidance -Get connected with mature people who have been down your road.

4. Reality-connect with people who will keep you grounded and centered in reality, that can help stabilize you. Sometimes friends can give us a broader perspective than the one we are experiencing. Find friends who are not black and white thinkers and who dont pretend to have an answer for every problem. People who live in reality can live with conflict and pain.

God designed us to be connected to Him first and foremost. We need the help that only He can give.

Taken from ‘Boundaries with Teens” John Townsend

About Amalia

My name is Amalia, I am a survivor, but I am not simply surviving here. I fully intend on living life to its fullest everyday of my life. My past does not define me, it is simply a part of me and a contribution to who I am becoming. Fully awake, fully alive. Love is my religion. I enjoy meeting new people from all different walks of life. I love engaging in deep, meaningful conversation with others. I believe we each have something to add to anothers life. I love Jesus. And the way he interacted with people, especially the outcasts. I sometimes feel as if I am a very old soul born hundreds of years too late. But am realizing I am right where I am supposed to be, there are no accidents. I cherish those who love and accept me for who I am, intensity and all. Who love me for me, not who they'd like me to be. When I love, I love deeply, when I hurt I hurt deeply, I can feel others pain, an empath, but I would not change a thing. My 'story' has molded me into the person I am today and I like me! I am deeply moved by early morning sunrises and evening sunsets, by flowers, bugs, the changing seasons,barefoot walks in the woods, the wind in my hair and the sunshine on my face. I love capturing these moments with my camera, as well as trying to share the emotions attached on canvas. Music is my drug of choice. It soothes me when i'm feeling down or overwhelmed. I am drawn to other creatives and out of the box thinkers, the misfits, outcasts. I love to laugh and make others laugh. Laughter is amazing medicine. I have ADHD and it shows, I am currently....LOOK A SQUIRREL! I have a very strong sense of justice and nothing angers me more than seeing others taken advantage of or harmed, especially in the name of religion or by those in authority who use their authority to harm or control others. I am childlike, yet intense and will fight for those I love until the bitter end. But i've also learned that I cannot save anyone else and have learned when to let go. Because that too is love.

Leave a Reply

